top of page
  • Writer's pictureHeather Lee

EASY Almond Coconut Waffles


It has always been important to me to eat a nutritious and delicious breakfast. Mostly I prefer a savory bite to start my day, but there are those rare times I crave something sweeter.

Labor Day happened to be one of those times, so I decided to try something new. (There is also a surplus of coconut flour in my cupboard and some almond meal I've been itching to use.)

And for Christmas last year I bought myself a waffle iron (that I don't use enough); it makes perfect pancake-thickness waffles. So pulled it out of the cupboard and dusted it off...

... here we go!


This #glutenfree #lowcarb recipe makes about 8, 1/4- cup waffles (or pancakes - both work equally as well, no adjustments necessary).

You will need:

  • 1 cup almond meal

  • 1 Tablespoon coconut flour or more if you prefer a thicker batter)

  • 4 eggs

  • 1/4 cup water (soda water will puff them up a bit more. I used LaCroix Apricot - mmmmm!!)

  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted (or grass-fed butter will work too)

  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

  • Pinch of sea salt

  • 1-2 Tablespoon agave syrup

If you want these to be keto, leave out the agave and add Stevia - or nothing at all. These are sweeter than you'd expect without anything!

Mix all the ingredients together in a stand mixer until totally blended.

Let stand for 15 minutes.

Preheat waffle iron (or griddle) to medium-high.

Once pre-heated, pour 1/4 cup of batter onto waffle iron (or griddle).

Waffles will be done in approximately 5 minutes; pancakes will need to be flipped when edges start to dry, around 3 minutes.

When finished, plate those yunmies and enjoy!!

Refrigerate leftovers (if there are any!) for healthy, filling, energy-boosting breakfasts throughout the week! You can even make then savory with bacon, cream cheese and/or eggs.

The possibilities are practically endless!


** Remember, I live in Denver, so you may have to adjust the amount of liquid used **

Thank you for checking out my blog and please share this recipe if you like it!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page